A little bit of before, a little less of after…

Ok so as you know I’ve been here, doing an internship in paper conservation. At least that is what I have told you… But you have no actual proof I’ve been doing that. Aside from my word, which is pretty strong, but I figure I can give you a little bit more than that.

I don’t actually know the name of the piece. I’ve been calling this one “Carl Bloch- Ships”

This is the before, there is some staining in the right corner of the sky (in the plate mark) and some staining in the upper left hand corner.
This is the before, there is some staining in the right corner of the sky (in the plate mark) and some staining in the upper left hand corner.
This is the back of the Carl Bloch ships.
This is the back of the Carl Bloch ships.

Ok, so this is the before. It really isn’t in the best of shape right now, it is very acidic and doesn’t look as magnificent as it really should.
So that is where I come in… and well, here it is!

This is what it looks like now...
This is what it looks like now…

Notice, I did not use a filter. The nasty tape edges are gone, and there is no staining in the areas I pointed out before.

Ok, onto a different problem child. Saint Jerome.

This piece was a nightmare, it blistered the moment I placed it into a 3% Peroxide solution, but the results were so good I had to keep going. I will have some intermediary pictures eventually. Maybe when I get to place where the internet isn’t so dang expensive.

Anyways, here is the before.

There is foxing over the majority of the page. Doesn't look so pretty yet...
There is foxing over the majority of the page. Doesn’t look so pretty yet…
Here is the backside... Notice the skinning on the left hand side, in the middle. and right by the sticker.
Here is the backside… Notice the skinning on the left hand side, in the middle. and right by the sticker.

Ok cool. Another nasty piece of art (not the art itself, the paper… When I get to Goya I’ll call that one nasty. Meaning all of it.) but I can do better than this. This is not even pretty yet.

So here is a prettier version.

No more foxing, all the blisters are down. Here is a piece of art...
No more foxing, all the blisters are down. Here is a piece of art…
Sorry for the portrait layout. Here is the backside for Saint Jerome. You can still softly see the skinning in the bottom middle. But I added a paper paste to it. It will dry very close to the color and give it strength!
Sorry for the portrait layout. Here is the backside for Saint Jerome. You can still softly see the skinning in the bottom middle. But I added a paper paste to it. It will dry very close to the color and give it strength!

So yeah here you go. Some before and after. These were the first two pieces of the 9 I have… More to follow someday.

I appreciate you reading and commenting and stuff. I hope each of you have a wonderful day!
-Patrick

3 thoughts on “A little bit of before, a little less of after…

Leave a Reply

